
1.18 RECIPROCAL RECOGNITION OF OUT-OF-STATE RADIOACTIVE 
MATERIALS LICENSES 

D Question: Will my out-of-state company be able to conduct activities in Maryland that are 
authorized in my out-of-state radioactive material license under reciprocal recognition? 

 

Why do I need this approval? 
As an Agreement State under the Atomic Energy Act, 
Maryland is obliged to recognize radioactive material 
licenses (see section 1.15) issued by the U.S. Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission (NRC) or any of the other 37 
Agreement States to licensees with out-of- 
state facilities.  The licensee must, however: 

• Meet procedural requirements for working in 
Maryland; 

• Obtain an authorization letter from the 
Department; 

• Pay a reciprocity fee; and 
• Notify the Department three days (72 hours) 

prior to working in the State. 

What laws or regulations give MDE the legal 
authority to issue this approval? 
FEDERAL: Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, 
§274b. 
STATE: Environment Article, Title 8; COMAR 
26.12.01.01 Section C.90. 

 
What is the process to get this approval? 
A licensee must file an authorization request that 
includes: 
a) A copy of the current NRC or Agreement 
State license and referenced procedures; 
b) Documentation of radiation safety training for all 
users of radioactive materials; 
c) Exact dates of work and location(s) with 
approximate work time(s) of day; 
d) Names of scheduled workers; 
e) Vehicle identification for the vehicle that will be 
used to transport/store radioactive material at the job 
site including vehicle make, year, tag number; 
f) A list of emergency personnel and their phone 
numbers (24 hours); 
g) Name, address, and telephone number of client; 
h) Name and telephone number of a contact at the work 
site; 
i) Source and device information, including serial 
numbers and the date of the last leak test; and 
j) Storage method in Maryland. 

 
Are there any other requirements? 
Reciprocal recognition requires written notification of 
a licensee’s intent to work in Maryland.  The 
Department now accepts reciprocity requests via e-mail 
at mde.reciprocity@maryland.gov. Specific instructions 
for new requests, and changes or extensions to existing 
requests can be found on the Radiological Health 
section of the Department's web site at: 

http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Air/RadiologicalHealth
/RadioactiveMaterialsLicensingForms/Pages/programs/air
programs/radiological_health/radioactive_forms/recipnotif
y.aspx 
How long should I expect it to take to get this approval 
once I submit a complete application? 
Up to 21 days 
Once I get this approval, how long will it last? 
Authorization to use radioactive materials under reciprocity 
shall not exceed 180 days in any twelve (12) consecutive 
month period. Prior to that time, a written request may be 
made that reciprocity remain in force. 
How much will this approval cost? 
$754-$15,600 per year depending on the complexity of the 
operation and the content of the license. This fee must be 
paid before any work will be authorized and is identical to 
the fee for in-State licenses. The fee schedule is found in 
COMAR 26.12.03. 
Do I need to know any additional information? 
Radioactive materials users approved to work in Maryland 
must have in their possession specific documents listed in 
the reciprocity letter, as well as a copy of COMAR 
26.12.01.01, entitled “Regulations for Control of Ionizing 
Radiation (1994)”, and copies of both the request for 
authorization and the Department’s reciprocity letter. 
Section C.90 of the regulations refers to requirements for 
reciprocity. 
The Department must be notified in the event of the 
following changes: 
1) By 9 AM, if previously scheduled work is not to be 
performed; 
2) By 4 PM, if work scheduled after regular hours is not to 
be performed; 
3) Anytime if personnel leave a work site before half of the 
scheduled work period has passed; and 
4) Anytime submitted work times are rescheduled or 
changed. 
Any incident occurring in Maryland such as personnel 
overexposure, loss or theft of any device containing a 
sealed radiation source, leakage due to loss of source 
integrity, severe damage to the device causing or 
threatening to cause excessive radiation or loss of source 
integrity or any other event requiring notification of local 
civil authorities shall be immediately reported to the 
Department: 

• After hours (866) 633-4686 
• During work hours (410) 537-3300 

Who do I contact with additional questions? 
Jim Lewis 
Radiological Health Program  
Jim.Lewis@maryland.gov 
410-537-3301 
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